Population

Even before contact with Europeans peoples of northern Asia and of North America hunted polar bears, especially for their fur and blubber. This led to a drastic decline in the population in the 50s and 60s. In 1973, Canada, USA, Denmark, Norway and the Soviet Union, put an agreement in place that would limit the hunt at least. Canada and Greenland 2009, signed an additional agreement, which is to limit the hunting quotas to sustainable levels.

The protective measures resulted in an increasing number of polar bears from about 20,000 to 25,000. On the CITES Conference of 2010, the strict interdiction of commerce outside of the 5 countries with polar bear population has been turned down. More recently, other factors have been added to the threat of polar bears. Global warming in the Arctic regions! The life of the polar bear is threatened because our earth is getting warmer.

Increasing temperatures causes the Arctic ice to melt earlier. The later onset reduces the possibility of hunting of animals. This leaves less and less time in order to build up the fat reserves needed for staying onshore. This also explains why the polar bears need to get closer to cities and humans, as they try to deal with their food deficit.

Population

Schon vor der Berührung mit Europäern jagten Völker Nordasiens und Nordamerikas Eisbären, insbesondere wegen ihres Fells und Specks. Dies führte zur drastischen Schrumpfung der Population in den 50er und 60er Jahren. Im Jahr 1973 schlossen Kanada, USA, Dänemark, Norwegen und die Sowjetunion ein Abkommen, das die Jagd zumindest einschränken sollte. Kanada und Grönland unterzeichneten 2009 ein Abkommen, welches die Jagdquoten auf ein nachhaltiges Maß begrenzen soll.

Durch die Schutzmaßnahmen nahm die Zahl der Eisbären auf ca. 20.000 bis 25.000 zu. Auf der Artenschutzkonferenz 2010 wurde das strikte Handelsverbot außerhalb der 5 Länder mit Eisbär Population leider abgelehnt. In jüngster Zeit sind weitere Faktoren zur Bedrohung des Eisbären hinzugekommen. Die globale Erwärmung in den arktischen Regionen! Das Leben der Eisbären ist bedroht, denn auf unserer Erde wird es immer wärmer.

Durch die steigenden Temperaturen beginnt das Eis der Arktis früher zu schmelzen. Die immer später einsetzende Eisschmelze verkürzt die Jagdzeit der Tiere. Damit verbleibt immer weniger Zeit, um sich die Fettreserven für den Landaufenthalt anzufressen. Dies erklärt auch, warum die Eisbären immer mehr in die menschlichen Gebiete vordringen, da sie dort versuchen ihr Nahrungsdefizit auszugleichen.